MODEL

Grok Bot

modeltopic-notexaiagentcursor

Overview

Grok Bot is xAI‘s Aug 2026 agent-teammate product, shipped in beta on Aug 11 on Cursor infrastructure across three paid tiers. Distinct from Grok 4.5 (the frontier chat model line that shipped through Cursor in July after the SpaceX–Cursor merger), Grok Bot is a product-suite bundle: each agent runs on its own persistent cloud Linux VM and returns to the user only when approval is required. Grok Bot is downloaded, priced, and checked-out through Cursor pending close of the announced xAI-Cursor merger — Cursor is the operational distribution surface, not a downstream integration.

Timeline

  • 2026-08-12-AI-Digest — xAI ships Grok Bot in beta on Aug 11 across three bundles — SuperGrok Heavy at $300/mo, Cursor Ultra at $200/mo, and Cursor Teams Premium at $120/seat/mo. Available on macOS, Windows, Linux, and iOS (Android “coming soon”). Product runs on Cursor‘s infrastructure pending merger close; downloads / pricing / checkout flow through Cursor. Bloomberg headline still uses the “SpaceXAI” merger label; the corpus reverted to xAI after the Jul 7 rebrand. Narrow read the corpus carries: three details coverage keeps flattening. (1) xAI’s own copy says agents “share a computer of their own in the cloud” — closer to persistent than dedicated per agent; framing every agent as an isolated VM overstates the isolation guarantee. (2) The Cursor Teams Premium $120/seat/mo tier is often missing from summary coverage that only quotes the $300 and $200 SKUs — it’s the load-bearing enterprise-pricing datum. (3) Bloomberg’s “SpaceXAI” label reflects the closed-in-Feb parent structure, not xAI’s current operating brand — flag it once, don’t propagate into wikilinks. Structural read the corpus carries: architecturally, Grok Bot’s “cloud desktop per agent + human-in-the-loop approval” is the same primitive Anthropic Computer Use and OpenAI Operator have shipped for 6–12 months (The Decoder explicitly frames yesterday’s Grok 4.5 terminal agent as “plays catch-up”). What’s actually new is ecosystem completeness — bundling an agent-teammate product into an existing paid IDE surface (Cursor Ultra / Teams Premium) rather than as a standalone app. This is a distribution bet, not an architectural one, and the $120/seat/mo Teams Premium floor is the datum enterprise agent-tooling buyers should benchmark against. 30 / 60 / 90-day watch: whether the xAI-Cursor merger actually closes (would dissolve the “Cursor infrastructure” caveat); whether Cursor’s own Ultra tier retains a non-Grok fallback agent; whether enterprise seats price further compresses toward $50–$80 as Claude Code and GitHub Copilot Agents respond.

Key Developments

  1. Agent-Teammate Product Bundled Across Three Cursor-Distributed Paid Tiers (August 11, 2026): SuperGrok Heavy $300/mo, Cursor Ultra $200/mo, Cursor Teams Premium $120/seat/mo. Bundling into an existing paid IDE surface — rather than launching as a standalone app — is the ecosystem-completeness bet that differentiates Grok Bot from Anthropic Computer Use and OpenAI Operator on distribution shape, not architecture.

  2. Cursor Infrastructure Is Pending-Merger, Not a Downstream Integration: Grok Bot runs on Cursor‘s infrastructure while the announced xAI-Cursor merger closes; downloads, pricing, and checkout still flow through Cursor. If the merger closes, the “Cursor infrastructure” caveat dissolves and Grok Bot becomes a first-party xAI product with the Cursor IDE surface as its native distribution channel — that’s the shape change the 90-day watch item is anchored on.

  3. $120/seat/mo Enterprise Floor Is the Load-Bearing Pricing Datum: Summary coverage that only quotes the $300 and $200 SKUs skips the Cursor Teams Premium $120/seat/mo tier, which is the datum enterprise agent-tooling buyers should benchmark against and the near-term compression floor to watch as Claude Code and GitHub Copilot Agents respond.

  • 2026-09-23-AI-Digest — Bloomberg reports the Grok Bot consumer agent — which SpaceXAI shipped on Aug 11 — crossed 418K weekly active users as of Sept 14, the first measurable foothold in the personal-agent race dominated so far by Meta Muse and ChatGPT. Corporate architecture matters: SpaceXAI is the post-merger entity from SpaceX‘s Feb 2026 acquisition of xAI at a ~$250B valuation; the combined outfit IPO’d on Nasdaq June 12 and later paid $60B in stock for Cursor — Grok Bot is the first joint product to ship. Load-bearing softener: the WAU number is Bloomberg-reported, measurement source not disclosed — treat as likely company-fed rather than SpaceXAI-disclosed. Traction is notable given the shipping-calendar overlap with GPT-6 Sol / GPT-6 Luna and Claude Opus 5.5, and gives an early data point on whether standalone agent apps can hold attention against distribution-heavy incumbents.
  1. 418K WAU One Month After Launch as First Measurable Personal-Agent Foothold Outside Meta / ChatGPT (September 22, 2026): Bloomberg’s 418K weekly-active-users number as of Sept 14 (roughly one month after the Aug 11 launch) is the first measurable personal-agent foothold outside Meta Muse and ChatGPT. Load-bearing framing to carry: the WAU is Bloomberg-reported, measurement source not disclosed — likely company-fed rather than SpaceXAI-disclosed. Structural read: standalone agent apps can accumulate a measurable base against distribution-heavy incumbents inside a month — traction is notable given the same-week shipping-calendar overlap with GPT-6 Sol / GPT-6 Luna and Claude Opus 5.5. 30 / 60 / 90-day watch: whether the WAU compounds or plateaus against Muse and ChatGPT distribution.

See also: xAI, Cursor, SpaceXAI, Grok 4.5, Claude Code, MOC - Developer Tools, MOC - Major Companies.